Human Nature - Conservation International Blog » Health http://blog.conservation.org Exploring the vital connections between nature's well-being and our own. Mon, 01 Sep 2014 02:00:00 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.9.2 Save Nature, Save Lives http://blog.conservation.org/2014/02/save-nature-save-lives/ http://blog.conservation.org/2014/02/save-nature-save-lives/#comments Mon, 03 Feb 2014 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=19920 © Will TurnerLike many places in the tropics, Borneo is burning — and the consequences are widespread. ]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2014/02/save-nature-save-lives/feed/ 2 Ensuring a Future for Vultures, Nature’s Cleanup Crew http://blog.conservation.org/2013/10/ensuring-a-future-for-vultures-natures-cleanup-crew/ http://blog.conservation.org/2013/10/ensuring-a-future-for-vultures-natures-cleanup-crew/#comments Thu, 31 Oct 2013 04:01:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=19514 Indian vultureA world without vultures — now that’s a scary thought.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2013/10/ensuring-a-future-for-vultures-natures-cleanup-crew/feed/ 2 3 Signs of Hope for Slowing Population Growth http://blog.conservation.org/2012/07/3-signs-of-hope-for-slowing-population-growth/ http://blog.conservation.org/2012/07/3-signs-of-hope-for-slowing-population-growth/#comments Wed, 11 Jul 2012 14:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=10005 Girl in the Democratic Republic of CongoOn World Population Day, here are a few things to celebrate.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2012/07/3-signs-of-hope-for-slowing-population-growth/feed/ 2 Will Water Wars Be the New Oil Wars? http://blog.conservation.org/2012/05/will-water-wars-be-the-new-oil-wars/ http://blog.conservation.org/2012/05/will-water-wars-be-the-new-oil-wars/#comments Wed, 02 May 2012 14:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=12003 IMG_1204Fresh water is surpassing oil as the world's scarcest critical resource — and increasingly becoming a source of conflict.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2012/05/will-water-wars-be-the-new-oil-wars/feed/ 3 Fighting Food Insecurity In My Own Backyard http://blog.conservation.org/2012/04/fighting-food-insecurity-in-my-own-backyard/ http://blog.conservation.org/2012/04/fighting-food-insecurity-in-my-own-backyard/#comments Tue, 24 Apr 2012 14:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=12086 © Mandy MorganTo learn about food security, a new CI employee volunteered at an urban farm.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2012/04/fighting-food-insecurity-in-my-own-backyard/feed/ 1 Linking Freshwater Conservation and Human Health http://blog.conservation.org/2012/03/linking-freshwater-conservation-and-human-health/ http://blog.conservation.org/2012/03/linking-freshwater-conservation-and-human-health/#comments Thu, 22 Mar 2012 14:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=9999 A girl plays in a river in Guyana. (© Pete Oxford/ iLCP)Since 1990, more than 2 billion people have gained access to an improved source of drinking water. But more needs to be done.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2012/03/linking-freshwater-conservation-and-human-health/feed/ 1 CI at 25: Securing Community Well-Being Through Conservation http://blog.conservation.org/2012/02/securing-community-well-being-through-conservation/ http://blog.conservation.org/2012/02/securing-community-well-being-through-conservation/#comments Thu, 09 Feb 2012 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=10189 CI's Conservation Stewards Program supports sustainable rice production in Madagascar. (© Cristina Mittermeier)For 25 years, health and social development have been integral to CI's work across the globe. ]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2012/02/securing-community-well-being-through-conservation/feed/ 0 Remembering Wangari Maathai http://blog.conservation.org/2011/09/remembering-wangari-maathai/ http://blog.conservation.org/2011/09/remembering-wangari-maathai/#comments Mon, 26 Sep 2011 14:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=7790 http://blog.conservation.org/2011/09/remembering-wangari-maathai/feed/ 1 To Curb Population Growth, Invest in Women and Girls http://blog.conservation.org/2011/09/to-curb-population-growth-invest-in-women-and-girls/ http://blog.conservation.org/2011/09/to-curb-population-growth-invest-in-women-and-girls/#comments Fri, 23 Sep 2011 14:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=7579 http://blog.conservation.org/2011/09/to-curb-population-growth-invest-in-women-and-girls/feed/ 5 So Many People, So Little Land http://blog.conservation.org/2011/08/so-many-people-so-little-land/ http://blog.conservation.org/2011/08/so-many-people-so-little-land/#comments Thu, 11 Aug 2011 18:00:14 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=7047 http://blog.conservation.org/2011/08/so-many-people-so-little-land/feed/ 5