Human Nature - Conservation International Blog » Natural Capital http://blog.conservation.org Exploring the vital connections between nature's well-being and our own. Tue, 17 Feb 2015 17:30:58 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=4.1.1 Nature Spoke — and These Presidents Listened http://blog.conservation.org/2015/02/nature-spoke-and-these-presidents-listened/ http://blog.conservation.org/2015/02/nature-spoke-and-these-presidents-listened/#comments Fri, 13 Feb 2015 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=21689 beaver pond, Hulahula River Valley, AlaskaThis Presidents Day, learn how these U.S. commanders-in-chief stood up for nature.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2015/02/nature-spoke-and-these-presidents-listened/feed/ 2 The Galápagos Islands’ Least Famous Residents: Its People http://blog.conservation.org/2015/01/the-galapagos-islands-least-famous-residents-its-people/ http://blog.conservation.org/2015/01/the-galapagos-islands-least-famous-residents-its-people/#comments Tue, 27 Jan 2015 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=21561 SONY DSCHuman inhabitants of the Galápagos are important characters in its history, for better and worse.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2015/01/the-galapagos-islands-least-famous-residents-its-people/feed/ 3 Our Conservation Resolution: Think Big http://blog.conservation.org/2015/01/our-conservation-resolution-think-big/ http://blog.conservation.org/2015/01/our-conservation-resolution-think-big/#comments Fri, 16 Jan 2015 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=21528 girl at Citadelle, near Cap-Haitien, HaitiWe need to map exactly where nature's services originate and the paths they follow to get to people. ]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2015/01/our-conservation-resolution-think-big/feed/ 1 Urban Jungle: Singapore Leads the Way on Green Space http://blog.conservation.org/2015/01/urban-jungle-singapore-leads-the-way-on-green-space/ http://blog.conservation.org/2015/01/urban-jungle-singapore-leads-the-way-on-green-space/#comments Tue, 13 Jan 2015 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=21514 singapore treesSingapore is a giant in the corporate and financial sectors. Perhaps surprisingly, it's also a haven for nature. ]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2015/01/urban-jungle-singapore-leads-the-way-on-green-space/feed/ 0 4 Trends That Give Me Hope for Our Planet in 2015 http://blog.conservation.org/2015/01/4-trends-that-give-me-hope-for-our-planet-in-2015/ http://blog.conservation.org/2015/01/4-trends-that-give-me-hope-for-our-planet-in-2015/#comments Mon, 05 Jan 2015 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=21494 snorkeler swims with manta ray, IndonesiaThe impacts of these individual achievements have been enormous. Still more important are the trends they represent.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2015/01/4-trends-that-give-me-hope-for-our-planet-in-2015/feed/ 2 How Nature Inspires and Transforms Us All http://blog.conservation.org/2014/12/how-nature-inspires-and-transforms-us-all/ http://blog.conservation.org/2014/12/how-nature-inspires-and-transforms-us-all/#comments Mon, 01 Dec 2014 16:18:48 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=21351 A hummingbird hovers over flowers on the island of Dominica in the Caribbean. Around 30% of what we eat and drink depends directly on pollinators.  (© Conservation International/photo by Sterling Zumbrunn)For people to thrive, we need to conserve not just the tangible benefits nature provides, but also the inspiration, wonder and awe by which nature transforms us all. ]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2014/12/how-nature-inspires-and-transforms-us-all/feed/ 0 3 Reasons to Be Thankful for Coral Reefs http://blog.conservation.org/2014/11/3-reasons-to-be-thankful-for-coral-reefs/ http://blog.conservation.org/2014/11/3-reasons-to-be-thankful-for-coral-reefs/#comments Wed, 26 Nov 2014 16:26:53 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=21332 Vibrant coral reef with red fan coral and anthius, in the Sulu-Sulawesi Seascape. (© Conservation International/photo by Sterling Zumbrunn)Something to be thankful for this Thanksgiving: coral reefs. They're so much more than a rock. ]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2014/11/3-reasons-to-be-thankful-for-coral-reefs/feed/ 2 Listening to the Forest Giants http://blog.conservation.org/2014/11/listening-to-the-forest-giants/ http://blog.conservation.org/2014/11/listening-to-the-forest-giants/#comments Mon, 17 Nov 2014 14:18:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=21264 redwoods, CaliforniaWe can learn a lot from redwood trees. Once timber sources, they are now national treasures.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2014/11/listening-to-the-forest-giants/feed/ 0 What We Need from the World Parks Congress http://blog.conservation.org/2014/11/what-we-need-from-the-world-parks-congress-2/ http://blog.conservation.org/2014/11/what-we-need-from-the-world-parks-congress-2/#comments Wed, 12 Nov 2014 22:27:44 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=21299 A fishermen in Cape Range National Park, Western Australia. (© Jeff Yonover)Dr. Russ Mittermeier outlines three priorities for the 2014 World Parks Congress, which brings scientists, government representatives and conservationists together to discuss how best to protect the Earth’s most important lands and waters.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2014/11/what-we-need-from-the-world-parks-congress-2/feed/ 1 3 Ways Conservation Efforts Can Promote Peace http://blog.conservation.org/2014/11/3-ways-conservation-efforts-can-promote-peace/ http://blog.conservation.org/2014/11/3-ways-conservation-efforts-can-promote-peace/#comments Wed, 05 Nov 2014 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=21211 Buddhist monks, BhutanJust as natural resource destruction has been linked to global conflict, protecting nature can serve as the bedrock for peaceful societies.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2014/11/3-ways-conservation-efforts-can-promote-peace/feed/ 0