Human Nature - Conservation International Blog » Get Involved http://blog.conservation.org Exploring the vital connections between nature's well-being and our own. Mon, 10 Nov 2014 22:24:16 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=4.0 Nature Is Speaking — Is Humanity Listening? http://blog.conservation.org/2014/10/nature-is-speaking-is-humanity-listening/ http://blog.conservation.org/2014/10/nature-is-speaking-is-humanity-listening/#comments Mon, 06 Oct 2014 11:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=21052 A Bolivian boy examines a long-horned beetle. (© Trond Larsen)Protecting nature in a bubble is not the answer. People must benefit more from keeping nature intact than from destroying it. ]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2014/10/nature-is-speaking-is-humanity-listening/feed/ 1 Environmentalism Gets a Much-needed Rebrand http://blog.conservation.org/2014/10/environmentalism-gets-a-much-needed-rebrand/ http://blog.conservation.org/2014/10/environmentalism-gets-a-much-needed-rebrand/#comments Wed, 01 Oct 2014 14:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=21032 A Ghanaian woman prepares saabu — a porridge made from maize — for the morning meal. (© Benjamin Drummond)Nature isn't fragile. People are. #NatureIsSpeaking]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2014/10/environmentalism-gets-a-much-needed-rebrand/feed/ 0 Teenager Bikes Across Africa for Conservation International http://blog.conservation.org/2014/02/teenager-bikes-across-africa-for-conservation-international/ http://blog.conservation.org/2014/02/teenager-bikes-across-africa-for-conservation-international/#comments Fri, 28 Feb 2014 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=20020 photo courtesy of David CraneIn the middle of a four-month bike race, CI supporter David Crane blogs from Ethiopia.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2014/02/teenager-bikes-across-africa-for-conservation-international/feed/ 1 6 Books to Read This Winter http://blog.conservation.org/2014/01/6-books-to-read-this-winter/ http://blog.conservation.org/2014/01/6-books-to-read-this-winter/#comments Fri, 24 Jan 2014 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=19878 Paradise Harbor, AntarcticaTo learn more about nature, development and the modern world, CI staff recommend these reads. ]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2014/01/6-books-to-read-this-winter/feed/ 0 The Planet Thanks You — and So Do We http://blog.conservation.org/2014/01/the-planet-thanks-you-and-so-do-we/ http://blog.conservation.org/2014/01/the-planet-thanks-you-and-so-do-we/#comments Fri, 03 Jan 2014 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=19794 (© Rod Mast)A big "thank you" to all the donors and friends who supported us in 2013.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2014/01/the-planet-thanks-you-and-so-do-we/feed/ 0 3 Conservation Champions Who Rocked Our World in 2013 http://blog.conservation.org/2013/12/3-conservation-champions-who-rocked-our-world-in-2013/ http://blog.conservation.org/2013/12/3-conservation-champions-who-rocked-our-world-in-2013/#comments Mon, 30 Dec 2013 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=19775 Monique Pool, founder of Green Heritage Fund SurinameMy team felt honored to capture these three visionaries on film.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2013/12/3-conservation-champions-who-rocked-our-world-in-2013/feed/ 3 7 Blog Posts You Didn’t Read — But Should — in 2013 http://blog.conservation.org/2013/12/7-blog-posts-you-didnt-read-but-should-in-2013/ http://blog.conservation.org/2013/12/7-blog-posts-you-didnt-read-but-should-in-2013/#comments Mon, 23 Dec 2013 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=19779 island near SamoaDon't let the year come to an end without reading these insightful posts. ]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2013/12/7-blog-posts-you-didnt-read-but-should-in-2013/feed/ 2 CI’s 10 Most Popular Blog Posts of 2013 http://blog.conservation.org/2013/12/cis-10-most-popular-blog-posts-of-2013/ http://blog.conservation.org/2013/12/cis-10-most-popular-blog-posts-of-2013/#comments Fri, 20 Dec 2013 15:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=19760 cocoa frog in SurinameThis year, we shared stories of groundbreaking partnerships, exciting discoveries and monumental challenges.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2013/12/cis-10-most-popular-blog-posts-of-2013/feed/ 1 American Renewable Energy Company Aids Green Growth in West Java http://blog.conservation.org/2013/10/american-renewable-energy-company-aids-green-growth-in-west-java/ http://blog.conservation.org/2013/10/american-renewable-energy-company-aids-green-growth-in-west-java/#comments Thu, 03 Oct 2013 14:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=19349 Indonesian man and water pipeViridian wanted its staff to see firsthand how power and fresh water provision can transform communities.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2013/10/american-renewable-energy-company-aids-green-growth-in-west-java/feed/ 0 12 Nature Books to Read This Summer: CI Staff Picks http://blog.conservation.org/2013/08/12-nature-books-to-read-this-summer-ci-staff-picks/ http://blog.conservation.org/2013/08/12-nature-books-to-read-this-summer-ci-staff-picks/#comments Fri, 02 Aug 2013 14:00:00 +0000 http://blog.conservation.org/?p=19010 beach in AnguillaEven if you don’t have a beach vacation coming up, these books can provide a welcome escape.]]> http://blog.conservation.org/2013/08/12-nature-books-to-read-this-summer-ci-staff-picks/feed/ 2